top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

Defensive Ends Used Redshirt Season to Improve Bodies

by Austin Silvey @SilveyESP

After Monday's practice, the first one in Jervey Meadows, two of Clemson's young defensive ends talked with the media.


KJ Henry and Justin Mascoll both redshirted their freshman season in 2018. With the new redshirt rule going into effect last year, Henry was able to play 39 snaps in four games and still maintain redshirt eligibility. Mascoll played eight snaps against NC State in his only appearance of the season.


Both players made sure to use their time wisely and focused on improving where they could. When asked where he thinks he improved the most from last year to this point in fall camp, Henry said, "I'd say physically. I'm more confident in my body. As a high school player, all I was was just an edge rusher...didn't really like to play on those early downs."


"Now I have the frame to back myself up. It starts with me. I have confidence in myself but if I don't have it in myself then there's no point. I think that was the biggest thing to help the decision to redshirt last year."

Redshirt Freshman DE, Justin Mascoll, running drills at Clemson practice // Photo by Austin Silvey

When asked the same thing, Justin Mascoll shared a similar response.


"Really my strength and my size," Mascoll stated. "I gained a lot of weight. I came in about 245, 250 and now I'm about 260. With 'Power Hour' and stuff, grinding day in and day out, being on scout team, having to give that best look every rep, lifting everyday."


"I just thank Coach Batson for working with me everyday...the guys in the weight room working with me everyday. The older guys teaching me different techniques. I improved on my pass rush and stuff like that, and that's about it."


Coach Dabo Swinney in his availability stated that, "The defense has a ways to go. They're playing hard, but just way too many mistakes. It's not winning football right now."


Swinney said there was no separation between the defensive ends right now. "They're all doing some things really well and they're all doing other things not so well. I do like the group, it's a really good group. Right now our strength is in numbers. Nobody's just taken it and said [I'm the guy]...but they're young. That's just where we are."




206 views

Comentários


bottom of page