top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

PLAYER PROFILE: QB, Dakereon Joyner (Audio)


Dak Joyner rushing TD at 2017 Shrine Bowl

Picture by Austin Silvey

Dakereon Joyner is the most recent quarterback commit for the Gamecocks. He comes in at 6-1, 208 lbs, as a four-star prospect by recruiting boards. He enrolled early with South Carolina and participated in the Gamecocks spring practice and annual Garnet & Black Spring Game back on March 31.

Many people, including some Gamecock fans, are already lobbying for Joyner to make a position change. I am not one of those that believes the same. He is raw and has improving to do, no doubt, but he has time to develop and is not needed to be a big contributor this season.

In the podcast below, I discuss some of the ability and potential for Dakereon, I address some of the people's comments I've seen that think he can't be a quarterback in college, and I talk about the former Gamecock player that I think is most comparable to Joyner's stature and playing style.


Comments


bottom of page