top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

2019 QB Ryan Hilinski commits to Gamecocks


Photo Courtesy of Los Angeles Times

Photo Courtesy of LA Times

On Monday, April 2, the 2019 QB prospect Ryan Hilinski, from Orange, California, narrowed down his list of schools to a top seven that included South Carolina, Arizona St, Ole Miss, Arizona, Oregon, Texas A&M and Georgia.

On Wednesday, April 4, he decided that he would be playing football 2381.7 miles away from home as he committed to Will Muschamp and the South Carolina Gamecocks.

When he released his Top Seven schools he stated that he would like to be focusing on just those selected for the remainder of his recruiting. He also went on to say, "From this Top 7, I will be releasing a Top 3 in two weeks after I get a better feel on which University is the right fit for me as both a student and athlete."

His original commitment date was set for May 26, Tyler Hilinski's birthday. Tyler was Ryan's older brother and a quarterback at Washington State University who tragically took his own life back in January of this year.

That time frame of two weeks got narrowed down to just two days pretty quickly. On Tuesday, April 3, he tweeted out "BIG news coming tomorrow... had a great talk with Ty and we think it's time." And to follow that, early Wednesday morning he sent out another tweet saying, "I couldn't be more excited and comfortable to announce my commitment to THE school I will be attending at 5 PM eastern time today!"

Then at 5:01 pm EST, this tweet was released by Hilinski...

@ryan_hilinski

His first visit to South Carolina was back in late February and left a good impression on him. In an article by Greg Biggins of 247sports, he quoted Hilinski as saying a lot of good things about the University and coaching staff.

“I fell in love with the school after my first visit,” Hilinski said. “They offered me early in my junior year and always made me feel like a priority. On my first trip, I was blown away by how much time coach (Will) Muschamp spent with me and my family.

“The whole staff was great with me and it was just so easy and comfortable to sit around and talk with them about anything, not just football. They were very genuine with me and my family and like I said, everything just felt right about it.

“Distance was never a factor for me and I had a lot of people telling me that my style of play really fits well in the SEC. I think I’ll have a great opportunity to be an impact player there and I’m just really excited about this opportunity.”

Hilinski is set to take part in the Elite 11 camps this summer. He also plans to sign early but is not sure if he will enroll early or not.

**MY ANALYSIS will be coming at a later date as I have the chance to watch some of his film so STAY TUNED for updates to the article!**

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page