top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

Running Backs Respond to Respective Record-Setting Games

by Austin Silvey @SilveyESP

CLEMSON, SC -- On Saturday night in Death Valley, both team’s starting running backs, AJ Dillon and Travis Etienne, had big games in terms of their respective school's record books.


Boston College junior AJ Dillon broke the Eagle's program career rushing yards record with his 76-yard performance vs the Tigers.


Obviously it’s a great accomplishment. I’m humbled to be mentioned with those names of great backs who have been through [Boston College]. To be at the top of that list is a great achievement,” Dillon told the media after the 59-7 loss.


To be honest, it is a little bitter sweet. I probably won’t reflect on it too much right now...I’m just gonna get back to the tape and try to figure out how I can get better and what we need to do to beat Syracuse.


The wins and losses are a bigger factor than my individual success. And I’ve said that many times. As cliche as it is, I’d be happier if we win every game than me having the rushing record and however many yards.

I’m obviously humbled and honored to have the success I’m having this season but really my focus is just on beating Syracuse next week and making any corrections I can to better my game.


When asked about the game, he responded, “This is a great lesson and humbling experience for us. We just gotta get back in and get better and figure out what we need to do to beat Syracuse.

Travis Etienne finished the game with 109 yards rushing on 16 carries and three rushing touchdowns, tying his career high. It was also his fifth time scoring three times on the ground in a single game. He is now just one rushing touchdown shy of tying James Davis’ school record of 47 career touchdowns.


Honestly, I’m hearing that for the first time. That’s pretty amazing. Just to be mentioned with those guys and just have a chance to be a part of history like that. Talk about leaving a legacy and it’s just really great and humbling for me,” Etienne responded when told by a reporter he was close to Davis’ record.


This was also Etienne’s third consecutive game with 100 or more rushing yards and his 13th game overall with at least 100 yards rushing. The school record is 17 games held by Wayne Gallman.


When asked if he felt like he was finally hitting his stride with a third straight 100+ yard game he said, “The offensive line has been doing a really great job. Just getting me to the second level and giving them a chance to make plays.

Etienne now has 49 total career touchdowns which is just two shy of tying CJ Spiller’s school record of 51. During the game, Etienne (3,999) passed Wayne Gallman (3,902) for ninth in career all-purpose yards in school history. He is now one all-purpose yard shy of becoming the ninth player in Clemson history to record 4,000 career all-purpose yards.


With no less than five games total left on the Tigers schedule (including at minimum one postseason game), Etienne is set to climb up more charts and break more records for the Tigers.


*CU Athletic Communications contributed to this article

297 views

Comments


bottom of page