top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

The Pride of Mobile; Notre Dame CB Increases Draft Stock at Senior Bowl

by Austin Silvey @SilveyESP


MOBILE, AL — There were a slew of great defensive backs who accepted their 2020 Senior Bowl invites when they went out late in the college football season. Names like Jeff Gladney (TCU), Kristian Fulton (LSU), Damon Arnette (Ohio St), Julian Blackmon (Utah), and Brandon Jones (Texas) were some of the headliners. But they all had to pull out for various reasons leaving the position feeling a little void of “top-tier” talent.


When something like this happens, though, it provides an opportunity for some guys to build their stock and prove they can be a productive DB and steady player at the next level. One of the guys to do that this week was none other than a product of Greer High School in Greer, SC and a graduate of Notre Dame...Troy Pride Jr.


Pride came out of Greer High School in the 2016 class as a four-star recruit and the 23rd ranked cornerback, according to 247sports. He ultimately chose Notre Dame over other offers from Clemson, NC State, Georgia Tech and a few more.


From the very first practice on Tuesday in Mobile, Pride stood out amongst all the corners on both the North & South team. His blazing speed has never been a secret but it looked even more incredible in person.


He told me in my interview with him on Tuesday’s Media Day that he wanted to run a 4.2 forty yard dash at the combine. It’s never been done before but at the very least, if he falls a little short of that mark (if he does it won’t be by much), he is a guy that sets goals and works hard to accomplish them.


Pride’s skillset obviously starts with how extremely fast and agile he is but there is so much more to his game than that. He does a great job staying in phase with receivers; he is a very ‘sticky’ defender. It’s difficult for guys to lose him in coverage. He plays with loose hips and is smooth and fluid in his movements.


What really popped out this week about his game is the ability to use his hands to judge the receivers intentions along with his ‘read and react’ awareness. He described himself as a blanket-cover corner. His speed helps him recover quickly when he gets beat off the line and every corner gets beat at some point so that’s not a bad quality to have.


The biggest issue I have seen with him is struggling to disengage blocks to make plays in the run game or on screens.


I have some things to fix. I’ve got some things to work through,” Pride told me. “I’m not a perfect prospect but I promise you I can work through that and one day be a great addition to someone’s team.


When I asked specifically what he wants to improve the most he said, “The technical aspects of press, as well as finishing at the end of routes. Pressing with my hands more. Using my feet more to guide where I need to move. And just being strong at the end of the route.


Whenever I get on the field, it’s to compete,” Pride told me when I asked him about what he wanted to accomplish this week. “I wanna be competitive. Just go against the best. That’s always what I’ve been about. Accomplishing that out here is what it’s all about.


Throughout the week’s practices, he has indeed gone up against some great competition and performed tremendously. Whether it be in 1-on-1, 7v7, or full team drills, he has proven his merit as a Top 100 player in the 2020 draft in my book.


He has faced guys like Denzel Mims, KJ Hill, Quartney Davis, Michael Pittman Jr, Antonio Gandy-Golden, James Proche, and former teammate Chase Claypool. In Saturday’s game he will get a chance to go up against a different set of skilled receivers that include Devin Duvernay, Collin Johnson, Van Jefferson, Tyrie Cleveland, Jauan Jennings, Kalija Lipscomb, and Austin Mack.


It isn’t just his on-field skills that will make him an intriguing candidate to NFL teams. Off the field, Pride’s play is reflected in his personality. An electric and vibrant young man with a lot of energy that really loves football.


I bring certain things with my personality. I’m a likeable guy, usually. And I love the game of football.


His answer to my question about what he thinks his Madden Rookie Rating should be was humble, honest, and nuanced.


You gotta be objective cause it’s a rookie rating. They don’t give you everything.” And without hesitation he said, “I think I should at least be a 72. I think a 72 is cool. If they start going less than that, it’s a little disrespectful. Speed has to be a 97...at least!


With all said and done, Pride’s week at the Senior Bowl has significantly increased the talk around him and boosted his draft stock. His goal for the week was the same as his goal for the future...


“I wanna make my mark. I want my name to be known.”

No doubt the speedster corner has made his mark this week in Mobile. And he has a chance to continue his upward trend in late February at the NFL Combine — especially if he runs that 4.2 forty he talked about.

 

TROY PRIDE JR #SeniorBowl Weigh-In Numbers (as of 1.21.2020):


- HEIGHT: 5113

- WEIGHT: 193

- HANDS: 838

- ARMS: 3138

- WINGSPAN: 7368


FULL INTERVIEW


407 views

Comments


bottom of page