top of page

SUBSCRIBE TO ESP NEWS

Why Isaiah Simmons Decided to Return to Clemson

by Austin Silvey @SilveyESP

CLEMSON, SC -- Redshirt Junior linebacker, Isaiah Simmons, is getting a lot of preseason buzz and love from multiple outlets. He was voted preseason first-team All-ACC and is being considered a first round NFL draft prospect by most analysts.


Simmons is the only returning starter in the Tiger's front seven from a year ago. He had the chance to declare for the draft but ultimately decided to return for a reason we can all relate to....don't wanna disappoint mom.


"I always promised my mom that I would get my degree. She could care less about football. She's all about school. That was the biggest thing," Simmons told me. But it wasn't just Mom's expectations he wanted to live up to.


"And I feel like I'd be cheating myself. I feel like I have a little bit more to prove. But the main thing was my degree."


Simmons has played in 29 games at Clemson and accumulated 134 total tackles, 12 tackles for loss ONE interception that was also returned for a touchdown (vs Louisville in 2018 home game), and FOUR forced fumbles.


The 'hybrid' linebacker will look to make a statement this season as a centerpiece of a reloading Tiger defense. And of course, continue to be a model student as he works towards his degree and keep mom happy.


691 views

Comments


bottom of page